Bleak House Wins a Peabody Award
Posted at 6:51 AM (PDT) on Thursday, April 6, 2006

65th Annual Peabody Awards Winners Announced

ATHENS, Georgia - The winners of the 65th Annual Peabody Awards were announced today by the University of Georgia's Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication. The winners, chosen by the Peabody board as the best in electronic media for 2005, were named in a ceremony in the Peabody Gallery on the University of Georgia Campus.

The Peabody recipients - from three continents and in seven languages - reflect the international scope of the competition. They range from television stations in Biloxi, Miss., and New Orleans, La., that provided heroic coverage of Hurricane Katrina's devastating landfall and aftermath, to "Yesterday," a South African film that personalized the continent's AIDS crisis. They include a Spanish documentary about China, the dramatic serials "Battlestar Galactica" and "Bleak House," Martin Scorsese`s "No Direction Home - Bob Dylan," and WNYC's Radio Rookies Project, which enables young people to find voices on radio. Multiple citations were awarded to HBO, the BBC and WGBH-Boston.

Bleak House BBC: "Absolutely compulsive viewing" said the Peabody board of this masterful, faithful-yet-modern adaptation of Charles Dickens' serial about a never-ending London law suit. A BBC, WGBH-Boston co-production in association with Deep Indigo.

The awards will be presented June 5 at a luncheon at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City. Jon Stewart, anchor of Comedy Central's two-time Peabody Award winner, "The Daily Show with Jon Stewart," will be the master of ceremonies.

About the Peabody Awards: Today the George Foster Peabody Awards are often cited as the most prestigious awards in electronic media. Each year, from more than one thousand entries, the Peabody Board selects outstanding works exhibiting excellence, distinguished achievement, and meritorious service by radio and television networks, stations, cable television organizations, producing organizations, and individuals. Though there is no set number of awards, no more than 36 have ever been presented in a single year.